Scholarships and Awards

Anthropology Scholarships and Awards

The Department offers two scholarships to undergraduate students pursuing a degree in anthropology. The Dr. L. Jill Loucks Memorial Scholarships are awarded each year to anthropology majors based on their academic achievement. Both financial need and scholastic achievement are considered when choosing the recipient of the Stephen Richard Weller Memorial Scholarship. Small summer stipends ($50-300) are available through the Dr. L. Jill Loucks Memorial Scholarship Fund. Click on the links below to learn more about our scholarships, awards, and current recipients.

In addition, faculty select an outstanding graduating senior or seniors to receive the Dr. L. Jill Loucks Memorial Outstanding Senior in Anthropology Award.

The Department also recognizes a student with the Dr. Susan E. Keefe Practicing Anthropology Award, who has contributed in a significant way to solving problems using anthropological theories and methods.

College of Arts & Sciences Scholarships

The following scholarships are available to students in majors throughout the College of Arts and Sciences. For more detailed information, please contact Dr. Dru A. Henson (, Senior Associate Dean. 

Sally A. Callegari Memorial Scholarship for Gender Diversity in Animal Studies (new scholarship!)

This scholarship provides support in the amount of ($2,000 for one academic year) to an undergraduate student with demonstrated personal or research experiences of sexism, or who demonstrate an interest to the advancement of women in the sciences through their own work/activism, and who demonstrate a commitment to ending gender-based discrimination to enter into a profession that includes an interest in the wellbeing of animals (i.e. veterinary medicine, biology, animal welfare, primatology, etc.) 

In addition to the above requirements, applicants must have completed the freshman year at Appalachian and must be pursuing a major within the College of Arts and Sciences. They must demonstrate a satisfactory performance of at least a 3.0 grade point average. Preference will be given to applicants who pursue the minor in Animal Studies and have an interest in pursuing a profession that touches upon the above interests. The student’s grade point average must remain at 3.0 or better to be eligible for reapplication. This scholarship will be awarded on a yearly basis to one student.

This scholarship was established in memory of Sally A. Callegari, a life-long supporter of animal rights, care and health. The purpose of the scholarship is to recognize outstanding scholarship in the humanistic or scientific study of animals that is couched in healthcare and/or advocacy and to provide incentive for students.

Richard A. Thomas Memorial Scholarship for Arts and Sciences 

This endowed scholarship (~$1000 per semester) is established as a memorial to Richard A. Thomas. The scholarship guidelines specify that applicants must demonstrate a verifiable need for financial support and that a financial aid form must be on file.

Applicants must have completed the freshman year at Appalachian and must be pursuing a major within the College of Arts and Sciences. In addition, applicants must display success and progress in academics and exemplary leadership in one or more of the following areas: 1) service-learning component of an academic course, 2) community-based research, 3) international service-learning (either ASU or International Partnership for Service-Learning and Leadership sponsored), or 4) advancement of service-learning initiatives such as serving on the Student Service-Learning Task Force, serving as the Peer Leader of a Freshman Seminar class that is involved in service-learning, serving as speaker for a service-learning orientation/workshop, etc.

GlaxoSmithKline Women in Science Scholars Endowment

The Glaxo Foundation has established an endowment which makes available two $1000 scholarships for full-time women students at Appalachian who are majoring in and planning a career in the sciences. The purpose of the endowment is to recognize outstanding scholarship, to provide an incentive for women science students to enter the science profession, and to provide students with a woman scientist mentor at Glaxo. 

For more information, visit:

Faculty and Staff Awards

Each year, the College of Arts and Sciences recognizes several members of the faculty and staff for outstanding service, teaching, or scholarly work. Help support the Department of Anthropology by nominating a faculty or staff member in recognition of their positive contribution to the College and University! Nominations are normally due in August. Read more here on how to nominate a faculty or staff member of the Department.