fall_2018_faculty_medium_0.jpgOur faculty have extensive research, teaching, and service experience, representing the fields of archeology, sociocultural anthropology, and biological anthropology, in diverse cultural settings including Belize, China, the Czech Republic, Ecuador, France, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mexico, Russia, the Philippines, Senegal, Sri Lanka, Turkey, and the United States (American Southwest, Appalachia, and the Atlantic Coast).

Each faculty member welcomes the opportunity to provide individual career advising and instruction to the student. In addition, faculty engage in interdepartmental cooperation through partnerships with Appalachian Studies, Global Studies, Biology, Geology, Women's Studies, and Sustainable Development (which was started in our department).

In addition to excellence in teaching, we maintain one of the highest standards of research and teaching in the College. Over the past 23 years, one of our faculty members has been selected for the UNC Board of Governors Campus Excellence in Teaching Award, four of our faculty members have been inducted into the College of Arts & Sciences Academy of Outstanding Teachers, and six of our professors have been awarded the scholar of the year awards (junior and senior levels) given by the College of Arts & Sciences.

UNC Board of Governors Campus Excellence in Teaching Award

Thomas R. Whyte (2018)

College of Arts & Sciences Academy of Outstanding Teachers

Patricia D. Beaver (1995)

Jefferson C. Boyer (1995)

Dana E. Powell (2015)

Timothy J. Smith (2015)

Donald W. Sink Family "Outstanding Scholar of the Year" Award (senior scholar award)

Susan E. Keefe (1997)

Cheryl P. Claassen (2010)

William C. Strickland "Outstanding Junior Faculty of the Year" Award (junior scholar award)

Larry R. Kimball (1997)

Gwendolyn M. Robbins Schug (2010)

Timothy J. Smith (2012)

Alice P. Wright (2018)

Jimmy Smith "Outstanding Service" Award

Timothy J. Smith (2018)

Faculty Members of Distinction, Appalachian Magazine 

Dana E. Powell 

Timothy J. Smith

Thomas R. Whyte

Alice P. Wright