Dr. L. Jill Loucks Memorial Scholarship in Anthropology

loucks_pic_0.jpgThese scholarships are awarded to anthropology majors who demonstrate outstanding academic achievement.  Dr. L. Jill Loucks (1953-1982) was a dedicated archaeologist and member of the faculty for three years before her untimely death. Her parents and friends created an endowment to support anthropology students  via the Dr. L. Jill Loucks Memorial Scholarship in Anthropology Endowment. In addition to having their name engraved on a plaque, the winner will be awarded approximately $1,200 in scholarship money (in the event that there are multiple winners, they will split the prize).




Application Guidelines

Students apply for the Loucks Scholarship for the upcoming academic year through the university ASAP (Appalachian Scholarship Application Portal) during the annual application window. 

In ASAP you will be asked to write an anthropology application essay.  Strong essays are thoughtful, well structured, and clearly highlight your academic experience in anthropology.  Your essay should address at least some of following things, depending on what is relevant to you:

    • Class assignments
    • Research papers or projects
    • Professional conference papers
    • Internships
    • Field school/study abroad participation
    • Honors and awards
    • Attendance at professional meetings
    • Membership in professional organizations
    • Volunteer work

Past Recipients

  • 1988-1989 Kim Green McClure and Randy Wulff
  • 1999-2000 Lindsay Kathleen Wetmore
  • 2000-2001 Elizabeth K. Uselton
  • 2001-2002 Elizabeth Laney
  • 2002-2003 Shauna Ertolacci
  • 2003-2004 Nick Jarman and Meredith Shockley
  • 2004-2005 Angela Henderson
  • 2005-2006 Andrew Johner
  • 2006-2007 Teresa Campell
  • 2007-2008 Matthew Bouchard and Andy Kruse
  • 2008-2009 Kaitlyn Kluge, Christine Kirby, and Erin Foster
  • 2009-2010 Brittany Glarrow
  • 2010-2011 Karen Stevens and Robert Schultz
  • 2011-2012 Caitlin Patton and Whitney Cannady
  • 2012-2013 Hannah Brooks
  • 2013-2014 Elaine Blevins and Lydia Dillingham
  • 2014-2015 Kelsey Rothenberg
  • 2015-2016 Rosemary Ott
  • 2016-2017 Rebecca Long and Victoria Olender
  • 2017-2018 Ricki Draper, Evangeline Giaconia, and Autumn Melby
  • 2018-2019 Kennedy Kavanaugh, Amanda Lago, and Mason Rogers
  • 2019-2020 Harrison Cribb and Ben Seabolt
  • 2020-2021 Rachel Anderson
  • 2021-2022 Lauren Mobley 
  • 2022-2023 Ella Adams, JS Braun, Autumn Lundi, and Josie Patch