Stephen Richard Weller Memorial Scholarship for Anthropology

The Weller scholarship recipient is chosen on the basis of academic achievement and financial need.  Recipients must be Anthropology majors in their junior or senior year.

The scholarship is named for Stephen Weller, an anthropology student who died as the result of a traffic accident. The award was established by his parents, Richard and Elaine Weller, to honor his memory.  Stephen was known to all students and faculty as a highly dedicated and motivated student of archaeology. He had planned for two years to spend the summer of 1990 as in intern at Chaco Canyon, New Mexico. His passion and enthusiasm for anthropology remains as an inspiration to us all.

Application Guidelines

Students apply for the Weller Scholarship for the upcoming academic year through the university ASAP (Appalachian Scholarship Application Portal) during the annual application window. 

In ASAP you will be asked to write an application essay and you are also encouraged to complete an optional statement of financial need. 

Strong application essays are thoughtful, well structured, and clearly highlight your academic experience in anthropology.  Your essay should address at least some of following things, depending on what is relevant to you:

    • Class assignments
    • Research papers or projects
    • Professional conference papers
    • Internships
    • Field school/study abroad participation
    • Honors and awards
    • Attendance at professional meetings
    • Membership in professional organizations
    • Volunteer work


The Weller Scholarship is specifically designated for students majoring in Anthropology, who will have completed their sophomore year at Appalachian State University by August of the application year, and who have demonstrated academic achievement (students in their senior year at the time of application are not eligible). Special consideration is given to students who demonstrate a need for financial support.


















Past Recipients

  • 1998-1999 Monica Josey
  • 1999-2000 Scot Laliberte
  • 2000-2001 Elizabeth Laney
  • 2001-2002 Nancy McCamey
  • 2002-2003 Gena Shands
  • 2003-2004 Tenina Stallings
  • 2004-2005 Joanna Collier
  • 2005-2006 Anna Moretz
  • 2006-2007 Elizabeth Brandt
  • 2007-2008 Lauren Witherspoon
  • 2008-2009 Elise Blanton
  • 2009-2010 Kimberly Howell
  • 2010-2011 Caroline Noel
  • 2011-2012 Caroline Noel
  • 2012-2013 Caity Brandt
  • 2013-2014 Haley Blanton
  • 2014-2015 Savannah Carter
  • 2015-2016 Jamie Adair
  • 2016-2017 Ricki Draper
  • 2017-2018 Autumn Melby
  • 2018-2019 Haley Hansen
  • 2019-2020 Madeline Kelly
  • 2020-2021 Bobbie Shreiner 
  • 2021-2022 Ann-Marie Mignone
  • 2022-2023 JS Braun