Dr. L. Jill Loucks Memorial Scholarship in Anthropology

loucks_pic_0.jpgThese scholarships are awarded to anthropology majors who demonstrate outstanding academic achievement.  Dr. L. Jill Loucks (1953-1982) was a dedicated archaeologist and member of the faculty for three years before her untimely death. Her parents and friends created an endowment to help anthropology students with research funds via the Dr. L. Jill Loucks Memorial Scholarship in Anthropology Endowment and eligible graduating students (students in their senior year at the time of their application are not eligible). In addition to having their name engraved on a plaque, the winner will be awarded approximately $1,200 in scholarship money (in the event that there are multiple winners, they will split the prize).






2019-2020 Recipients

Harrison Cribb

cribbsmall_1.jpgMy path to knowledge started my freshman year when I decided to take an anthropology course. Once I discovered the potential for anthropology to serve and expand my interests, I never looked back. Since that first class, anthropology has sent me on a spiraling journey of self reflection. My place within the world and the structures that create it are illuminated through the lens of anthropology. The knowledge I have gained thus far has positively influenced who I want to be as a member of society. The Anthropology department has provided me with a community of people using Anthropology to change the world. Receiving the Dr. Jill Loucks Scholarship is a privilege that allows me to see my growth as a student, and as a person. This scholarship has helped me see that I am on the right path and I look forward to continue growing as a student.” – Harrison Cribb





Ben Seabolt

seaboltsmall_0.jpgI am drawn to anthropology because, unlike any other discipline I have encountered, it continually challenges my imbedded ways of thinking and pushes me to consider what lies beyond my narrow horizon of thought. Scholars within anthropology step outside of given, hegemonic categories of knowledge within one’s own society in order to consider a vast array of ways of being and thinking in the world that diverge in significant ways. Through learning about these diverse ways of being human, I have been able to see the social world and its logic that bred me from an external perspective, allowing me to understand this world as contingent, constructed, and therefore open to being altered for the better. Likewise, anthropology has provided me with an ever-deeper engagement with ways of thinking and being in the world that are different from my own, and the global relations of power that affect them, garnering a strong sense of human connectedness across constructed boundaries. In short, it has been a liberatory endeavor to study anthropology because I am constantly challenged to open new paths of thinking, paths that lead to a greater engagement with the communities I am a part of, and the world at large. Receiving the Dr. L. Jill Loucks Memorial Scholarship in Anthropology comes as a great honor, as my passion for anthropology only increases with further opportunities to become immersed in its vast intellectual ocean. I can only thank the peers, friends, and professors I have met along the way for helping to push me along this intellectually rewarding path.” – Ben Seabolt


Application Guidelines

Students are invited to submit an application for Loucks Memorial Scholarships in the early spring. They are designated for students who are majoring in Anthropology and who have demonstrated academic achievement. How the student's academic and professional work in anthropology have demonstrated their interests and accomplishments is considered based upon the following criteria:

  •  Class assignments
  • Research papers or projects
  • Professional conference papers
  • Internships
  • Field school/study abroad participation
  • Honors and awards
  • Attendance at professional meetings
  • Membership in professional organizations
  • Volunteer work


Past Recipients

  • 1988-1989 Kim Green McClure and Randy Wulff
  • 1999-2000 Lindsay Kathleen Wetmore
  • 2000-2001 Elizabeth K. Uselton
  • 2001-2002 Elizabeth Laney
  • 2002-2003 Shauna Ertolacci
  • 2003-2004 Nick Jarman and Meredith Shockley
  • 2004-2005 Angela Henderson
  • 2005-2006 Andrew Johner
  • 2006-2007 Teresa Campell
  • 2007-2008 Matthew Bouchard and Andy Kruse
  • 2008-2009 Kaitlyn Kluge, Christine Kirby, and Erin Foster
  • 2009-2010 Brittany Glarrow
  • 2010-2011 Karen Stevens and Robert Schultz
  • 2011-2012 Caitlin Patton and Whitney Cannady
  • 2012-2013 Hannah Brooks
  • 2013-2014 Elaine Blevins and Lydia Dillingham
  • 2014-2015 Kelsey Rothenberg
  • 2015-2016 Rosemary Ott
  • 2016-2017 Rebecca Long and Victoria Olender
  • 2017-2018 Ricki Draper, Evangeline Giaconia, and Autumn Melby
  • 2018-2019 Kennedy Kavanaugh, Amanda Lago, and Mason Rogers